at Chase School, Malvern on Sunday 15th October 2006

Tony Perryman, the match manager for the game, had to deal with the pitches at both Worcester University and the Leisure Centre not being finished on time after relaying, and, at a late stage, he had to switch the match to Chase School in Malvern, which caused some small road navigation enigmas.
The LX Club team therefore started with Chris Kendal, a young Worcester HC player on the left wing, a very skilful player, who said he’d like to consider becoming a LX member in about 45 years time!
Captain Peter Ross elected to play three across the back, and defenders Colin Pinks, Percy Steele and John Longden, were soon defending robustly against the energetic Worcester forwards.
However, with the strong-running Peter Ross in good form, LX went ahead when centre half Mike Greenhough skilfully crossed from the left after a long run, and Sudesh Nayar guided the ball into the Worcester goal.  Worcester continued the pressure and both David Reads were at full stretch to contain Worcester’s two fast wingers.  Eventually Malcolm Wilkinson for Worcester powered his way through the middle, and just beat Paddy Maher, with an accurate shot just inside the post.
With the arrival of Peter Crayford and Adrian Money at half time, there were positional changes.  Peter moved to centre half, and Adrian took Peter Ross’s position on the left, with Mike Greenhough moving into the forward line.
A more cohesive team pattern resulted, with good distribution from Peter Crayford.  Chris Jones, who had an excellent game on the right wing, set up several chances, assisted by Adrian Money weaving down the left with good control and vision, ensuring a hard-earned 1-1 draw.
After the match, the teams adjourned to ‘The Sauce Factory’, a comfortable hostelry in Worcester for a roast meal, which was well received.  Thanks go to the umpires, Yvonne Dawson (LX Club), and Chris Chapman (Worcester), and especially to Tony Perryman, who did a grand job in organising a very enjoyable occasion. 

Team:  Paddy Maher, Colin Pinks, Percy Steele, John Longden, David Read (Midlands), Mike Greenhough, Peter Crayford, David Read (South), Chris Jones, Sudesh Nayar, Peter Ross, Adrian Money, Chris Kendal (trainee LXer).

David Read