on 23 October 2016


LX Red assembled at Exeter University on a beautiful autumn’s day for the annual clash with ISCA over 50s. The game started at a cracking pace and continued in this vein for the full 70 mins. It was clear that neither side was there to make up the numbers and that with two strong midfields shots at goal were going to be few and far between. Honours were evenly shared in the first half. Two or three chances were created at each end but in reality neither side came close to breaking the deadlock.

As the second half progressed LX started to shade it marginally as some of the “younger” ISCA players started to run out of steam. Webby was called upon to make a few more saves / clearances and kept the defence on their toes with his characteristic encouragement (“three men unmarked in the circle, get it sorted!”). Stuart was solid at sweeper and continued to bombard ISCA with a series of overheads, which they handled with varying degrees of success. Gavin, Harry & Graham generally kept the opposition forwards at bay and were frequently able to move the ball up to the forwards through the midfield of Knoxy (for 68 mins anyway), Jonny Marshall, Kevin and man-of-the-match Mike Leatt. The rotation of Lakhan, Rob Oakley and Housh up front caused the ISCA defence increasing levels of discomfort with the latter scoring the only goal with 20 mins to go when they failed to clear the initial shot. Two short corners went begging towards the end (you’re supposed to stop the ball outside the circle lads) and on balance the 1-0 final result was probably a fair reflection of the game.

Overall this was a determined, hard worked and disciplined performance from LX Red against traditionally strong opposition. It only remains to thank Bill and Catherine Goodridge for the fantastic meal and drinks in their barn afterwards, ably supported by Chris Booker and the team of hosts from ISCA HC. The friendly spirit of the LX hockey was clearly in evidence as the banter continued into the early evening.

Back Row: Mike Leatt, John Smith (only opposition player remaining after our warm down!), Steve Forrest, Rob Oakley, Ian Knox, Graham Small, Lakhan Kandola.

Front row: Jon Marshal, Kevin White, Dave Webb, John Housham, Gavin Stones, Graham Ramsden.