Club History

The LX Club was founded in 1995 as the result of suggestions made by continental teams. Following a challenge by the Dutch De Zestigplussers, Gerald Wilkinson and Ian Russell raised an English team to participate in a tournament for over-60s in Lille, their team won the tournament convincingly. In the process an inaugural meeting of the club was held at the Etap Hotel in Lille on Saturday 4th February 1995 with thirteen players present. It was decided that the club would be known as the LX Hockey Club, England but generally shortened to the LX Club. In September 2003 the LX Club was sanctioned by England Hockey to select an official England Over 60 team to be called England Grand Masters. An England Great Grand Masters (Over 65) team was established the following year. In 2009 England Hockey took over the selection of the England teams, including the new Senior Grand Masters (Over 70), but we are proud the vast majority of the players still come from the LX Club membership

  The Ashes

During the LX International Tournament at Canterbury in 1997 a wooden hockey stick was burnt and the ashes deposited in a suitable vessel. England won this first encounter and since then the LX Club, now replaced by the England Grand Masters have regularly played the Australian Grand Masters for �The Ashes�. England currently hold the Ashes after beating Australia in their first encounter at the Singapore International Tournament in 2011. The two teams did not play against each other in the 2012 World Cup so England continue to hold the trophy.

  The European Cup and Trophy

The first European Super Veterans Trophy (ESVT) competition for Over 60 teams was held in Amsterdam in 2000 and annually after that. In these early years not all the teams were necessarily National teams (e.g. the Alliance and LX Red - a second selected team after England). In 2005 the competition was extended to Over 65 teams and in 2006 it was decided to split the tournament into two categories - one for National first teams and a second Tournament Trophy category for non-national and national B teams including Alliance International and LX sides. This decision was partly to avoid a repetition of the 2005 finale in Rotterdam which had been an all-England affair. The LX Club side had beaten Germany in the semi-final but then lost to the England national side in the final. In June 2007 the LX Club hosted the first official Grand Masters Hockey European Cup with a Tournament Trophy competition running concurrently. The Grand Masters Hockey European Cup is now held every two years. In the intervening year a less formal non-national European Trophy competition is now held. In 2010 at Braxgata in Belgium the LX club entered six teams and also had five teams at the second European Trophy tournament at Bra, Italy in 2012. (See European Cup Results)

  The World Cup

In May 1998 the Royal Dutch Hockey Board invited England to play in the first Over 60 World Cup in Utrecht. England Hockey asked the recently established LX Club to represent England in the tournament, which also included teams from Germany and Australia. LX Club 'A' team became the first winners of the World Cup beating the Dutch in the final in the presence of the then President of FIH. The next World Cup, and the first Grand Masters Hockey World Cup under the newly formed WGMA, was held in Kuala Lumpur in March 2002. The KPMG World Cup was presented for the first time to winners Germany, but the LX Club�s 1998 win on behalf of England had already been inscribed on the trophy to ensure a complete record of Over 60 World Cup winners. Since then the World Cup has been held every two years. In 2006 the Tournament, like the European Cup, was split into two categories - one for National teams, including for the first time National Over 65 teams, and the second category for non-national and national B teams including Alliance International and LX sides. At Hong Kong in 2008 Australia became the first winners of the Over 70 World Cup - by default as they were eventually the only nation to enter a team in that category. However in 2010 at Cape Town England competed in all three age groups and won all three, with LX winning both the Over 60 and Over 65 Tournament Trophy age groups. The 2012 World Cup was hosted by the LX Club at Oxford in partnership with England Hockey and was the largest event to date with 41 teams competing. England retained their Great Grand Masters title but Netherlands became Grand Masters champions and Australia won the Senior Grand Masters. LX again won the Tournament Trophy Over 60 and Over 65 competitions but Australia�s Southern Cross won the TT Over 70 section.